Fizyx for Felines: A Physics Textbook for the Curious Cat

Introduction

Posted in Uncategorized by skonabrittain on 22 January, 2010
I thought I would never, ever blog, but I am launching this blog today in observance of National Answer Your Cat’s Questions Day (I didn’t make this up – see http://tinyurl.com/ykpw5ml) .

It will contain excerpts from a book I am writing: Fizyx for Felines: A Physics Textbook for the Curious Cat.  All excerpts are copyright 2006-2010 by Skona Brittain. Note that to see each actual text excerpt, you must click on the (more . . .) at the end of the post intro.

Comments from humans as well as felines are very welcome.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alex M. said, on 23 January, 2010 at 19:02

    Bravo! This is hilarious!! POST MORE!

  2. Janet D. said, on 25 January, 2010 at 15:09

    I love the title! Not sure if I can find time to check it out any time soon (and certainly not constructively), but what age is it aimed at?

    • skonabrittain said, on 26 January, 2010 at 15:20

      You haven’t even read it yet, Janet, and you’re already asking me a tough, insightful question! (Or maybe it just seems tough and insightful because I don’t know the answer.) Originally, I’d intended it to be a short and humorous book for physicists. But as I started writing, partly due to requests from readers, it became longer, lower-level, and more pedagogical. (Probably less humorous somewhere in there, too.) The level is actually inconsistent in this draft, as I’m experimenting with different levels in different parts, hoping to get feedback on which is preferred.
      I’d say the ideal reader is a college student who is taking a physics course, or even a bright high school student, or any adult who studied some science in the past. There are some parodies that will only be recognized by someone who knows some physics, but others won’t know that they’re missing them. Also, the more you love cats, the less science background you need to appreciate it!

  3. Julia D said, on 26 January, 2010 at 20:33

    You’re so funny! I love the fact that you are writing this for felines. I know my puppy would like a book written for her too. Why not write a sequel entitled “Canines Can Calculate (or Canines Can Count): Mathematics for Mutts”. 😉

    • skonabrittain said, on 26 January, 2010 at 20:40

      I love your ideas, too! Instead of waiting for the sequel, maybe you could write the canine math book.

  4. A Calico Cat said, on 1 February, 2010 at 23:03

    Meow, Meow, Meow, Meow. Meow.

  5. Ana said, on 1 February, 2010 at 23:06

    This Intro. is very informative, and funny. I like the quotes by different authors.


Leave a Reply

